Charged by a gift book

Have you ever noticed how things come to you at the time you most need them? This happened to me recently when I received Brendon Burchard’s new book “The Charge” – but let me give you some background first.

I follow Brendon and receive his e-mail newsletter. I can’t quite remember what I had to do to receive his new book, but do know that it was something simple like a Like on Facebook or a retweet. I was a little sceptical about receiving the book – after all, I live in Cape Town, South Africa, and wondered whether the offer would be honored when there are additional costs. It’s one thing to get an e-book for free, but an actual hard copy of a book? But because I have a deep love of books – developmental and fiction – I thought there was no harm in giving it a go. So I did the necessary, and forgot all about it.

So receiving the actual book was like receiving a belated Birthday present – not only getting the book but realizing that honourable men like Brendon do exist And it came to me at a time when I knew I needed to make some changes in my life from a professional perspective. I am far from finished with the book, because it’s not something you simply read – if you want to change your life there is work to be done, and I am going to do it.

Yesterday there was a lively discussion about Leadership on Skills-Universe (www.skills-universe.com), prompted by the death of  Professor Tobias. As I was engaged in the discussion I found a paragraph in “The Charge” about competence and leadership, which I duly posted because it was so appropriate to the discussion.

So “The Charge” is a gift that keeps on giving! For more information about the book and it’s author go to http://www.brendonburchard.com, or maybe just go to Amazon and buy the book! You won’t be sorry.

Leave a Reply

